

LOCAL PAPERS. LOCAL NEWS. LOYAL READERS.

## Background on SNA's Dean S. Lesher Award

The Dean S. Lesher Award recognizes publishers, general managers or other executives and individuals who have enhanced the suburban newspaper industry in at least one of the following ways:

- Pioneered new concepts in suburban newspaper publishing. •
- Exemplified the excellence of suburban newspapers by publishing outstanding newspapers. •
- Provided civic leadership within the community or communities in which his or her newspapers are published.
- In some way has enhanced the suburban newspaper industry through leadership in areas related to suburban newspaper publishing.

The Lesher Award has recognized outstanding leaders in our industry since 1982, when the award was bestowed upon its namesake, Dean S. Lesher. The list of previous recipients reads like a Hall of Fame for SNA:

1982	Dean S. Lesher, Lesher Communications, Inc., California
1983	Bruce Sagan, Economist Newspaper, Illinois
1984	Ralph Markham, Antelope Valley Newspapers, California
1985	Paul Averill, Observer & Eccentric Newspapers, Michigan
1986	Frank Bick, St. Louis Suburban Newspapers, Missouri
	James and Robert Donnelly, Donnelly Publications, Missouri
1987	Leo and Louis Lerner, Lerner Publishing Company, Illinois
1988	Oran Asa, Northeast Los Angeles Publishing Company, California
1989	Bill Dole, Dole Publishing Company, Massachusetts
1990	Bill Strasburg, Montgomery Publishing Company, Pennsylvania
1991	Ros Bosworth, East Bay Newspapers, Rhode Island
1992	Charlie Wrubel, Wrubel Communications, Inc., New Jersey
1993	Philip Power, Suburban Communications Corp., Michigan
1994	Peter Speck, North Shore News, Canada
1995	Nick Arundel, ARCOM Publishing, Virginia
	Joe Ferstl, Lerner Publications, Illinois
1996	Harold G. (Hal) Townsend Jr., Townsend Communications, Missouri
1997	Gerald H. Gordon, Sun Newspapers, Ohio
	Stan Rose, Sun Publications, Kansas
1998	David Simonson, Pioneer Press Newspapers, Illinois
1999	Gary Rust, Rust Communications, Cape Girardeau, Missouri
2000	Jack & Pat Winters, Downers Grove, IL
2001	Ron Lenyk, Metroland Printing, Publishing & Distribution, Toronto, ON
2002	Robert Shaw, Shaw Newspapers, Crystal Lake, IL
2003	Bill Shroeder, Lakeland Media. Grayslake, IL
2004	Tom Bradlee, Chesapeake Publishing Corporation, Elkton, MD
2005	Richard Aginian, HomeTown Communications Network, Livonia, MI
2006	Tom Noonan, The Community Press, Gannet Co., Inc. (retired)